I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You

Author: Ally Carter
Series: Gallagher Girls, Book 1
Publisher: Lothian
Star Rating: 4/5
Date Read: January 15th, 2014
Read Count: 2
Review:
A few years ago I found myself in the predicament of having nothing to read. This can either be the best or the worst situation to find yourself in, depending on the circumstances. Mine was about the middle of the road. I was 14, had some pocket money and was wandering through the book department at Target (they have a somewhat limited selection). I chanced upon I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have To Kill You, the first of the Gallagher Girls series. Fastforward to today, the sixth and final book has been released and I have bought the five books in the series I didn’t already own and am revisiting Cammie and her friends to see how it all ends.

There is one main word that comes to mind when I am describing this book: fun . I have always found The Gallagher Girls such an enjoyable read and I have narrowed it down to two predominant aspects. The first is that it takes place at boarding school (the Gallagher Academy). I have always wanted to go to boarding school, since I started reading stories where the main character goes away to school and has a roommate and goes to class where she lives and gets into mischief and has adventures. From Malory Towers to Hogwarts, I have always had an obsession with the idea of boarding school and always wanted to go to ‘see what it was like’, as I told my parents who never caught on to the idea. The second aspect is SPIES. Badass, kick your ass, teenage girl spies (in training). At the boarding school. Where they take classes such as Covert Operations and Protections & Enforcement. You can say it sounds far fetched all you like, but I think it sounds awesome and that’s why it appealed to my 14 year old self and why it still appeals to my 20 year old self today.

In this first installment, we are introduced to Cammie ‘The Chameleon’ Morgan whose mother is the headmistress of the Gallagher Academy and whose father was killed on assignment. It is not a normal life and Cammie is not a normal teenage girl, and neither are her friends. The school is an all girls school, with little opportunity for interaction with *gasp* those other kinds of humans….boys! So when Cammie meets one who thinks she’s just your average teenager and who is showing some interest in her, she’s way out of her depth. He can never know what she is. And yet, the promise of being normal draws her in and she is left with some tough choices to make.

I feel like my own summary of the book doesn’t do it enough justice. The dialogue between characters and also inside Cammie’s head was witty and funny, and I especially enjoyed her ‘real history lessons’ where a Gallagher Girl was involved in almost everything you know about and stuff you don’t. I loved her relationship with her friends and how important she realised it was. The gadgets were cool, the classes sound heaps better than mine and I found I enjoyed this just as much at 20 as I did at 14. Bear in mind when you do read this that it is the point of view of a fifteen year old, written for fifteen year olds, and be careful not to expect a literary masterpiece – and you might just enjoy it. The four star rating I first gave it still stands. Bring on book 2!

Find my review of Book 2 of this series, Cross My Heart and Hope To Spy, here.
Find my review of Book 3 of this series,
Don’t Judge A Girl By Her Cover, here.
Find my review of Book 4 of this series,
Only The Good Spy Young, here.
Find my review of Book 5 of this series,
Out of Sight, Out of Time, here.
Find my review of Book 6 of this series, United We Spy, here.

Tell me what you think!

