Sherlock Holmes: The Complete Novels and Stories Vol.2

Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Publisher: Bantam Classics
Star Rating: 5/5
Date Read: January 27th to February 3rd, 2014
Review:
The only thing I regret about reading the stories of Sherlock Holmes in two great big chunks is that I feel like it’s all over too soon. How I wish I’d lived in the time where I would have had to wait, impatient and eager, for the next installment of the great detective’s adventures. The wait would have been well worth it.

While reading, I am in fact transported to Victorian England, to the apartment at 221B Baker Street which I can see clearly in my mind’s eye (note: I have never watched any Sherlock inspired TV series). From that sitting room I embark on, with Holmes and Watson, so many mind boggling adventures where I try as I might, like Watson does, to keep up with the great Sherlock Holmes. He leaves me for dust just about every time, but that makes it no less enjoyable. I rather like watching him prove his talents time and again.

John Watson faithfully chronicles the adventures of Sherlock Holmes for us, as Holmes is called to many a case where it is never about the money, only the mental exercise. Holmes likes to be challenged and more often than not he rises to the occasion. We are told that there are some cases that were not solved, which is interesting, but their tales have not been concluded because they lack completion. We also find in this volume, one story from the third person and a couple from Holmes’, both which I enjoyed and had a distinctly different voice to that of Watson. I felt that these were interesting author choices but also reflective of the fact Watson and Holmes were not always together.

As I’m sure you can tell, I loved every Sherlock Holmes story I read. Some of course were more thrilling than others, more adventurous, but they were all well written and very clever all the same. My hat off to Sherlock Holmes, John Watson and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

Tell me what you think!

