Deja Dead

Author: Kathy Reichs
Series: Temperance Brennan, Book 1
Publisher: Arrow
Star Rating: 3/5
Date Read: October 25th to 29th, 2013
Read Count: 1
Review:
I had a lot of trouble getting into this book – and I know why. It was simply because I couldn’t separate the Temperance Brennan I know and love from the TV show Bones from this very different Tempe Brennan that I didn’t know. I couldn’t connect the two at all, other than their name, and for the first half of the book I sat there thinking “she’s not like that”, “she doesn’t say things like that” and “where’s Booth?”

However, once I got really taken into the story I managed to forget that I thought I knew this character and treated her like a completely new one. The only other thing I had trouble with in this book was the waste of words. A lot of sentences and paragraphs seemed unnecessary – I didn’t feel like what Brennan ate for dinner every night was important – and could have been left out, probably shortening the book by half. Other than that, I enjoyed the story and Brennan’s fight for justice for the women who had been mutilated and killed. I’m not sure, though, if I’ll be pursuing the other books (there’s so many!) – I never say this but I might just go watch the TV show instead…

Tell me what you think!

