Thirteen

Author: James Phelan
Series: The Last 13, Book 1
Publisher: Scholastic
Star Rating: 3/5
Date Read: August 27th to 29th, 2013
Read Count: 1
Review:
There seemed to be some hype surrounding this book at the bookstore I bought it, part of the whole ’50 Books You Can’t Put Down’ campaign, but I wasn’t completely sold on it. I felt it’s readership was aimed a little high as ‘Young Adult’ – I would have recommended it to be more Middle Grade, mainly due to the simplistic language.

The story also felt rushed. I picked up an Alex Rider/Harry Potter vibe, which made me think okay, cool but I feel like there could have been more in it. Does that make sense? I know there will be thirteen books and thirteen people due to ‘The Last 13’ but rather than feeling the fast pace as good and exciting it felt more rushed than anything else. No need to be hasty! Maybe it will improve with the following books, I’m intrigued enough to want to find out.

Beware, spoiler ahead!
(You have been warned…)

Also, I totally don’t believe Sam is about to die. Not really the best cliffhanger but I can see what the author meant to do – it just wasn’t believable enough!

Find my review of Book 2 of this series, Twelve, here.
Find my review of Book 3 of this series,
Eleven, here.

Tell me what you think!

