The Maze Runner

Author: James Dashner
Series: The Maze Runner, Book 1
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Star Rating: 3/5
Date Read: May 7th to 12th, 2014
Read Count: 1
Review:
I didn’t love this book and I didn’t hate it. It’s difficult for the reader when so much is unexplained for the majority of the novel and the end leaves you with more questions than answers. I suppose then you’re supposed to run for book 2, The Scorch Trials.


My lack of connection to the characters made it difficult to really feel something for them and their plight. Their situation is not pretty. A group of boys who can’t remember who they are or anything about their lives other than their first names, living in an isolated community where they farm their own food and at night horrible monsters swarm outside the walls that keep them safe and hide the Maze where they spend their days, looking for an escape. That’s a horrible life to be thrown into. But I felt a little disconnected from the whole thing. It wasn’t a hard read, but didn’t really pull me in and didn’t have me up all night reading, which is often how I rate the effect books have on me. I haven’t read a great deal of books with male protagonists, and not in dystopian settings, so I was looking forward to a different perspective. All I got was annoyed by Thomas and his self-righteousness. On the other hand, it must have been hard for him to deal with his memory loss and the sense of familiarity that he couldn’t work out. It then further annoyed me when he was right, but I’m glad the other boys didn’t give him a free ride and brought him back to earth on a few occasions and didn’t let him run the show.

The whole thing with the Maze is intriguing and that’s what kept me reading and what leads me to read the next book in the series, which promises to have a few more twists and turns and hopefully more reveals about what’s going on. I reckon when we get to the bottom of it there’s going to be a whole lot more going on than we can even speculate about. I’m interested in what happened, how it happened, what caused people to make decisions that they did that led to what’s going on now. I’m hoping, too, that I get to know the characters better and am able to sympathise with them, which makes reading a far better experience. I also hope Teresa is able to show those boys up!

 For my review of Book 2, The Scorch Trials, click here.
For my review of Book 3,
The Death Cure, click here.

 

2 Comments

  1. Oh damn. I’ve read awesome reviews for this one by a whole range of bloggers, but have also seen quite a few that felt disconnected to the dystopian world and having a male teen MC. I’ve got a copy, as I wanted to read it before the film was released (didn’t even know there WAS a film until recently). There’s nothing worse than a main character that won’t get down off his high horse.

    Thanks for an awesome review, going to tread lightly with this one and lower my expectations a bit 🙂

    • I didn’t mind having a male teen MC, I was looking forward to it as it would be different to what I usually read, but the guy just thought he was the best thing ever and he had this attitude throughout all three books. But see what you think! You might like it, it might have been just me. I think I will end up going to see the movie just out of curiousity.

Tell me what you think!

