The Scorch Trials

Author: James Dashner
Series: The Maze Runner, Book 2
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Star Rating: 3/5
Date Read: May 12th to 14th, 2014
Read Count: 1
Review:
Fast paced and thrilling but super confusing, The Scorch Trials is Book 2 of James Dashner’s trilogy The Maze Runner. I finished this one quicker than I did Book 1 out of sheer curiousity. And also because I was waiting to find out what the hell was going on.

Thomas, Teresa and the others have survived The Maze and they think that they’re safe. But the Creators haven’t made things that easy for them and there are more trials ahead. Things are just going to get worse for the Gladers – and much more confusing for the readers.

I’m going to be honest (as I always am), for a lot of this book I had no idea who was good, who was bad, who to trust, who should be disposed of. So I have no idea how Thomas was supposed to work it out. The poor kid. I thought he was annoying but I’m feeling kind of sorry for him now, and all the other boys too. With his raging hormones too! The kid can’t win. To start with I couldn’t stand Brenda but by the end I can now say she’s growing on me. Not keen on the thought of a love triangle though, he definitely should be Teresa – like that’s really important at this point.

One of the things that makes these book so frustrating is that the reader is teased with information, the answers we all so desperately want. But we’re never given much, or enough to tell us what’s going on. This can be extremely alienating for the reader and it’s not always going to be intriguing enough to continue. For me, I figure I’m 2/3 of the way through the trilogy so I’m going to finish and hopefully get some answers. If I get none though, watch out for a crazy mad review!

There’s also very little character development or growth, they all respond in more or less the same way to each situation every time. Nothing changes except the plot moves forward and of course, we get more confused.

Okay, on to Book 3!

For my review of Book 1, The Maze Runner, click here.
For my review of Book 3,
The Death Cure, click here.

 

 

Tell me what you think!

