The Death Cure

Author: James Dashner
Series: The Maze Runner, Book 3
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Star Rating: 2.5/5
Date Read: May 14th to 16th, 2014
Read Count: 1
Review:
Sometimes you stick it out with a series because you think it could turn into something awesome and you don’t want to miss that. But sometimes it falls short and you end up disappointed. I’ve been disappointed by YA trilogies before, and really I should have expected it – I didn’t even love the series. I just couldn’t help feeling so dissatisfied by this book.

Can someone tell me who died and made Thomas boss? He seems to think he’s king of the world but to me he’s just a pain in the ass and I would have hated to be stuck in that world with him. “I know best, just trust me” and he gives no explanation as to why they should or what his big idea is because he thinks they’ll argue with him (probably for good reason). None of the characters sat right with me: Minho – too hot-tempered, Teresa – too self sacrificing (that poor girl did everything for Thomas and there’s no way he deserved it!), Newt – gave up too easily, Brenda – I don’t know she just rubbed me the wrong way? Her character was so up and down I had no idea what was going on with her or who she really was. And what the hell happened to Chancellor Paige?

WICKED’s attempt for a cure and the disposal of so many Immunes for the name of science was very typical of the human race, I must admit. The Immunes clearly have the best genes and everyone else’s were no good – why didn’t they just ship all the Immunes somewhere safe in the first place? Not very humane to let everyone else kill each other but you still would need as many Immunes as possible in order to form a functioning society again. Putting them in the Maze and letting them die was just stupid. I also see Thomas still never bothered to learn the names of the other boys in his group. Are they not good enough for you? They only died for you.

I enjoy dystopian novels usually but this trilogy as a whole, particularly how it ended, just fell short. Nothing fit together and I was really pissed at one character death in particular which felt like a cop out. Character deaths are abundant in this series, FYI. But I didn’t shed one tear. I just couldn’t get attached.

A disappointment. 2.5 stars.

For my review of Book 1, The Maze Runner, click here.
For my review of Book 2,
The Scorch Trials, click here.

 

Tell me what you think!

