A Man Named Dave

Author: Dave Pelzer
Series: Dave Pelzer Trilogy, Book 3
Publisher: Orion
Star Rating: 1/5
Date Read: June 10th to 13th, 2014
Read Count: 1
Review:
This is possibly one of the most unnecessary books I have ever read. The 1 star review is partly my fault, because I was 95% sure I wouldn’t like this book based on the previous two books of the trilogy. That doesn’t mean, though, that it’s my fault the book is bad.


Because it is. It’s poorly written, wanders through Dave’s life as an adult, sees him make some stupid decisions and then yay, tie it all up with a bow, here’s a happy ending (this guy’s life is not over but the book is).

I can see the point of this book. Dave Pelzer suffered terrible abuse at the hands of his mother as a child, and this book can be seen as a message to other survivors that it doesn’t have to end there, you can get out of your situation and make a real life for yourself. But did we not establish that already in books 1 and 2?

This book was painful to read because I just couldn’t put up with any more of Dave Pelzer’s whining. I can’t stand people who complain about their lives and then do nothing about it. I’m not saying what happened to him wasn’t awful, because it was and it should never have happened (and you know what else? This whole thing of what happens in the home, stays in the home is absolute bullshit and is no excuse for the other adults in Dave’s life), but then he got out, into foster care, found a loving family (who suddenly disappeared like halfway through the book). Things go wrong in everyone’s lives, and your life after that was in your hands, no one else’s. This book felt like a huge account of ‘everything gone wrong in my life’ by Dave Pelzer.

I am so glad I never bought any more of Dave Pelzer’s books. If it wasn’t for my little pledge that I would start trying to finish all the series I’ve started, I never would have made it this far.

 

 

Tell me what you think!

