Unite Me

Unite Me

Author: Tahereh Mafi
Series: The Juliette Chronicles, Books 1.5 & 2.5
Publisher: Harper Collins
Star Rating: 3/5
Date Read: July 28th, 2013
Read Count: 1
Review:
This is not going to be a full blown review but more me throwing my two cents into the discussion. Unite Me contains Destroy Me, a novella from Warner’s point of view, and Fracture Me, from Adam’s point of view. It’s been almost a year since I read Shatter Me for the first time but I think I remember it pretty well, same with Unravel Me and you can find my reviews for those books linked below.

Let me start by saying, I have never liked Warner. He is controlling and manipulative and he only cares about owning Juliette. Contrary to what seems to be the popular opinion, reading Destroy Me did not change my mind about this and didn’t make me sympathetic towards him. I agree with him – he is a coward. All he does is talk – or in this case, think – at the readers, and there’s never any real decisive action from him to back up what he claims he really feels. I’m not falling for it. I think he’s useless. He is part of the reason that I have been putting off reading Ignite Me for so long. Just the possibility of Juliette ending up with him physically upsets me, that she could fall for someone so cruel, who thinks of no one but himself and is just an all around asshole. I stand by my beliefs, and refuse to feel sympathetic for him. Okay, you had a terrible childhood. Now that you’re an adult, it’s time to stand up instead of cowering in your father’s shadow. And for godssakes learn that you do not have the right to POSSESS anyone, least of all Juliette. You are a terrible person and yes terrible people do exist so they should also exist in books. BUT YOU DO NOT DESERVE HER. SHE IS NOT YOURS.

 

Moving on.

 

Unfortunately Fracture Me failed to live up to expectations, but that is hard with novellas isn’t it? From it, though, I gained some interesting insights about Adam and what was important to him. I thought it very realistic that while he loves Juliette, someone who broke up with him and has caused him a great deal of pain, his first priority is his brother, who really is like his own child. He needs to think about what is best for James, first and foremost. I completely understand that. I also know that following the events of this novella, he is going to be forever doubting and second guessing himself. There wasn’t a whole lot he could do and yet, being Adam, he will still be shouldering a great deal of blame, pain and grief. The poor guy. No one listens to him. I actually feel sorry for him a bit.

 

A quick note on Juliette’s journal: didn’t get anything from it I didn’t already glean from the first two novels plus Destroy Me. Unnecessary.

 

3 Stars. Am even more nervous to read Ignite Me than I was before but at least I am ready for it now – I think! Watch this space for my Ignite Me review.

 

Find my review of book one of this series, Shatter Me, here.
Find my review of book two of this series,
Unravel Me, here.

 

Tell me what you think!

