Trust In Me


 Author: Sophie Mckenzie
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Star Rating: 3.5/5
Date Read: September 22nd, 2014
Read Count: 1
Review:
Thank you to Simon & Schuster for providing this book in exchange for an honest review. This did not influence my review in any way.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a good keep-you-up-at-night psychological thriller. I love to be tripped out and tripped up and kept guessing and have my head spinning from all the twists and turns. Makes for a great, exciting read, although in this case I had this one finished before it got too late into the night because I just had to know.

Livy and Julia have been friends since the tragic murder of Livy’s sister Kara eighteen years before. Livy thought she knew everything about Julia but when she finds Julia dead in her living room from a suspected suicide, Livy doesn’t know what to think. The version of Julia presented as a depressed and troubled soul doesn’t gel with Livy, who knew the Julia who was full of life. Livy can’t let it go and starts to look into Julia’s death, which inevitably leads her back into the past and what Julia had discovered about Kara’s murder. As Livy starts to connect the dots, she finds she is not safe and neither is her family, and she isn’t sure who to trust.

Everyone in this book is set up to look guilty. Oh, the possibilities! I love trying to work out who did it, especially when the chapters are interspersed with teasing snippets of the murderer’s diary. I don’t let anyone off the hook completely and I try to rationalise the mystery to work it out. I wonder if I ruin it for myself because when the big reveal comes, I am never completely surprised (except in the case of Agatha Christie novels). Despite my pick of the murderer, I mostly enjoyed this high stakes, fast paced read, only I found Livy to be a bit dull at times, even though I commend her attitude to not give up and her firm resolve that she was right, even when she could trust no one. I found some of the scenes a bit eye-rolly, particularly when it came to interactions with her husband or with Damian, but other than that it was an enjoyable read.

Trust In Me is a page turning thriller that will keep you guessing, keep you up late and make you watch over your shoulder. I feel like I shouldn’t love these books as much as I do, because people die, but it’s like TV shows like Criminal Minds (except in this case without the police and the FBI) – you can’t help but enjoy the thrill!

Tell me what you think!

