This Week At The Book Party…

This week was my last week of uni before exams, my last week of undergraduate classes FOREVER. The last three years have gone by so quick! There have been assignments to finish, crepes to eat, last wanderings around campus to be had – I was feeling a bit nostalgic. I’m going to miss the place! I worked so hard through high school for this, and now it’s over. I made the very conscious decision this year to not apply for postgrad straight away – I got a job which I’m excited to start and I want to do some travelling, so there’s so exciting things ahead but I can’t help but be a little sad. My favourite lecturer told me the door there is always open for further study so that was nice to hear. And of course I can go and visit, even though I probably won’t (maybe just for the crepes).

In bookish news, it’s been a slow week. Earlier this week Rafflecopter handed over some winners for my Belzhar and Tin Lily giveaways, so a drum roll please?

BELZHAR – Eugenia from Genie in a Book

and

TIN LILY – Cait from Notebook Sisters.

Congratulations, girls!

This week I read The White Divers from Broome, a non-fic about a little-known time in Australian history, when pearl shell diving was big business in WA. It was generally work done  by Malays, Japanese or Aboriginal divers but the Government at the time wanted the British to do it. It was a bit of a doomed experiment. Very interesting read which I gave three stars.
I also started A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray, which in a hectic mad rush to make a train fell out of my bag at the train station, and I didn’t realise until I was already a few stops away. Trying to make a deadline at uni, I couldn’t go back so I called my boyfriend who had dropped me off and luckily he could go back and rescue it. Book is reportedly in good condition and my bookmark still in place, waiting for me to collect it tomorrow.
While mourning, I moved on to The Prophecy of Bees by R.S. Pateman. A creepy read that I finished this morning, my review for that one will be online in a few weeks time. I will now be moving on to another non-fic read, The Boys in the Boat by Daniel James Brown.

I also posted a discussion post this week about how I don’t use libraries *gasp*. Check that one out here and leave your criticism (I am prepared!).

Next week I have quite a few reviews coming up for new titles, scroll down for covers!

untitled (5) untitled (4) 23000321 Talon

That’s all from me this week!

1 Comment

Tell me what you think!

