The Prophecy of Bees

R.S Pateman
Hachette
Published 25th November 21014
Thank you to the publisher for
providing this book via Netgalley for 
an honest review. This did not influence
my review in any way.

CREEPY ALERT. This was a fun read. I like to be creeped out. I like to be kept guessing and wondering, even if I end up second guessing everything I thought about the book in the end and then to have it all turned around. Then, listen for it, that shout of “I KNEW IT!” This is why you shouldn’t watch movies with me. If I’m like this when I read, just imagine what I’m like when I’m with other people (clue: can never shut up).

So The Prophecy of Bees was way further down on my list because it’s release date wasn’t until the end of November (and I read this is October) but there’s a story and a half there. In the short version, I was separated from the book I was reading right before I was about to get on an hour and a half train journey home. I had my tablet with me and the only galley I had downloaded that I hadn’t read was this one (don’t ask me why I hadn’t downloaded the others with sooner release dates, my logic is obviously flawed). So off I went!

The Prophecy of Bees is a story of secrets, curses and crazy villagers. Izzy and her mother move into the empty manor house in a village named Stagcote, far away from their lives in London, after Izzy’s father died (we’re not really told why, except that he worked himself to death, or something like that). As well as dealing with that, Izzy is trying to cope with her mother, who she doesn’t get along with. Izzy’s past is dark and we slowly learn why. She’s not impressed with their move out to the middle of nowhere but her mum wants a fresh start for both of them to reconnect. As the two of them settle into their new life, Izzy learns more of the villagers superstitions, which she laughs off at first. But then strange things start to happen at the manor, and she starts to investigate. It turns out she is right to be uneasy…

I didn’t really connect with the characters in this book. I felt for them, particularly Izzy and her mother Lindy, because they were both so damaged but their past and by each other, dealing with their personal demons while trying to deal with each other. But I didn’t connect. Maybe because the whole situation was just a bit crazy and they were both unlikeable. That didn’t stop me from enjoying the story though, even when Izzy got a bit whiny. I liked the creepy factor, the history of the manor, those weird villagers. It wasn’t a bad read at all, but when Izzy started to investigate I didn’t really understand some of her jumps in logic – even when her conclusions were correct, they were still big leaps and I would have liked to follow her thought process a bit more. But then she was a drama-filled and hysterical kind of girl, so it does keep in character for her.

Izzy was a deeply troubled girl, leaving behind a boy in London who had stopped calling her, and she is a bit of a mess. I appreciated the character development, slight that it may have been, but there was a lot of potential for her. TOO BAD SOME THINGS HAPPEN. Trying to be no spoilers haha! The slow rebuild of her relationship with her mother was nice to see, but unfortunately we were mostly told that it was happening rather than seeing it. It’s kinda sad because if it weren’t for the strange happenings and Izzy going a bit off the deep end, being in the country might have been good for their relationship, which had been strained since Izzy hit her teens and decided to rebel against parental authority and all her mother wanted her to be, which included dating the older Cosmo, who was in a band and didn’t seem to do much else. Poor, naïve Izzy, I did feel for her as she nursed her broken heart, because there was a bit more to it than we realised at first.

b\The ending was awesome. So fitting and while I knew something was coming (and predicted who was behind it), I didn’t expect it go down like that. It was so good!

 

Overall rating? 3.5 stars

Tell me what you think!

